Oklahoma

Posted: May 22, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

As I write this even now, my heart is so heavy for all of those in Oklahoma affected by the storms. Having lived in Oklahoma nearly my entire life, I am certainly no stranger to the fact that tornadoes are always a deadly possibility during storm season; yet it still doesn’t seem  to numb the pain that I know the victims must me feeling. I have watched countless news stories since yesterday recapping the horrendous events that unfolded. How awful if must have been for those parents that sent their babies off to school to never have them return. How sickening it must have been to head off to work, earning a living to pay for your home, the very home that you came back to find in ruins. I cannot even begin to process what each and every person must be going through. I have wracked my brain countless times, trying to sort out the “why’s” and “what’s” of it all. Honestly, there are no fathomable answers, so I am left with only a few thoughts:

Pray. 

Pray for every individual impacted. If there is one thing I have learned in life, it is that God can take even the most terrible situations and turn them into something great. Sometimes it may seem that there is no hope, but when you turn it over to God, he makes a way. As long as we are on Earth, we are bound to see bad things happen to undeserving and often times innocent people. Such is life. Pray.

Serve.

Find some way that you can serve these families in need. There are multiple ways to give in monetary form trending right now (think Red Cross) but also lots of local organizations coming together to provide resources to those in need. I challenge everyone to reach out to those hurting- instill some hope in them.

With those thoughts, I’m finished tonight. Heading off to bed to thank God for all of my blessings tonight. Though I often take things for granted, I know that there is so, so much I have to be thankful for. In fact, I think before I make my way to my bed in the home I am so thankful for, I think I’ll tiptoe into my little one’s room and give her one more kiss goodnight.

Until next time. . . 

 

TLS

Leave a Reply

