What’s it all about, anyway?

Posted: June 26, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

When people find out that I wrote a book, the first question they always ask is: what’s it about? A very good question, indeed, yet one that I struggle to answer without feeling like this:

You would think since I wrote the thing that I would have a really easy time simply telling someone what it’s about. Well, without quoting the synopsis verbatim, I don’t. I get awkward and insecure and just at a loss for words when I’m trying to explain. (I know, I know, I need to work on this.) It could also be that there are three other books in the works, so I have a hard time just summing up this book when there is oh-so-much more to be told. Who knows. The point: my 5 year old gets it and she can give an awesome sales pitch in 0:34 seconds. Don’t believe me? Check it out HERE. If for no other reason, it’s adorable to see her try to say “trusts” with a missing front tooth. And while you’re seeing her in all of her cuteness, you may as well check out her Sweet Brown impersonation. Go on, you know you want to . . . I’ll wait.

See, she gets it! She knows the essence of Trusted. And what does she say when people don’t rush out to pick up a copy on Amazon?? “Ain’t nobody got time for that…go check it out already!”

Until next time. . .

TLS

Comments
  1. Aww super cute! Gorgeous daughter!
    Best of luck with your book!

  2. I have the exact same problem when trying to describe my book.

    • tlstimac says:

      I wish I could work it out! Even with the synopsis in the back of my mind I still get all tense about it. Guess I’ll just have to lug the 5 year old around as my walking/talking real life business card 😉

  3. […] counselor (hi Ben!) has challenged me this week to tell two people about my book. I mentioned in a previous post how crazy difficult this has been for me, but I’m going to give it a shot. Say a little prayer […]

Leave a Reply

