I Ain’t Even Mad

Posted: July 20, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , , , ,

So, it happened. . .

My first less-than-great review.

It was inevitable, I suppose. I mean, I had it coming. Nearly a month now, and everything has been rainbows and sunshine. “I am author, hear me roar!”

Yeah, well. LOL  I have to admit, having someone not like your “baby” (aka book) just kind of sucks. :/ Such is life, though, right? The important thing is that I read the review, took from it the value it contained, and didn’t punch anything or cry. I realized that the very thing I feared the most in the beginning … criticism… didn’t crush me. I faced it today. And you know what? I’m okay. 🙂

So, even though the culmination of a bad review/the whole family being plagued by a wretched stomach virus/PMS/life-in-general tried to ruin my day, I’m still smiling.

These articles helped a little too:

http://www.sheltoninteractive.com/blog/what-to-do-when-you-get-a-bad-book-review

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/lev-raphael/bad-book-reviews_b_1656083.html

http://www.intergalacticmedicineshow.com/cgi-bin/mag.cgi?do=columns&vol=carol_pinchefsky&article=011

http://colleencollinsbooks.com/blog/2013/1/5/what-to-do-when-you-get-a-bad-review#.UeoviY21His

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/jacketcopy/2011/07/bad-review-make-lemonade.html

Okay, I’m done lamenting. Back to reality.

On a more positive note, we finally finished the munchkin’s playhouse and she loves it! Below are some pics. Enjoy! 🙂

Image

Until next time. . .

TLS

Comments
  1. tlstimac says:

    Also, forgot to add just how fitting my daily devotional reading was today:

    “Bless your enemies; no cursing under your breath. Laugh with your happy friends when they’re happy; share tears when they’re down. Get along with each other; don’t be stuck-up. Make friends with nobodies; don’t be the great somebody.” Romans 12:14-16

  2. Ack. Bad reviews are the worst. Good for you for dodging the mad and sad and moving on 😀 And the playhouse looks fab! Loving the pink walls 😀

    • tlstimac says:

      Thanks! Having a good attitude is key, I think. As my husband put it, not everyone likes the same cup of tea. 😉 And yes, those “Princess Pink” walls were a must for the kiddo. Lol. Ah, to be 5 again…

  3. katieschnack says:

    Hi Taylor! I am glad my article helped you with your less-than-ideal review. They really are the worst. Good luck with your book! Also, that is the coolest playhouse of all time. The Justin Beiber poster pushes it into the realm of amazing. What a luck girl!

  4. tlstimac says:

    Thank you, Katie! I adored your humorous spin on such a lousy feeling; it put a smile on my face and made me realize that a bad review isn’t the end of the world. SO glad I came across it. 🙂

    And thanks for the playhouse compliment. The little one had two stipulations: pink walls and Bieber poster. The girl knows what she likes. 😉

Leave a Reply

