Amazon ACX

Posted: July 31, 2013 in Random, Writing
Tags: , , , , ,

I received a promotional email earlier about Amazon ACX (or Audiobook Creation Exchange). Perhaps you’ve heard of it. If not, we’re in the same boat. Curiosity got the best of me and I spent a little time cruising around the site, getting a feel for what it’s all about.

Basically, if you don’t care to click on the link, I’ll give you the TL Stimac version: it allows you to create and distribute an audiobook.

The more in depth response would be that you can either record your own audio for your book or hire a professional directly through the site. Just like KDP, the author (or Account Holder) receives a portion of the royalties based upon the decided price.

As a new indie author, audiobooks are something that I haven’t really looked into. I have used Createspace and KDP to get my book out there, but never really gave much thought to the audio side of it. I guess my naive opinion was that audiobooks were for the pros…authors with the Big Six backing them that would shell out the money for a professional voice-book-recorder-person. Yeah.

Well, it turns out that Amazon has given indie authors yet another tool for their DIY arsenal. I must say that the thought of having my book out there in audio format is appealing; heck, it may be the only way for my husband to actually read the whole thing! 😉

So, as I am contemplating giving it a try, I’m curios. Has anyone else used ACX? What are your thoughts? Are audiobooks necessary? Would it be worth the time and effort?

Definitely something to think about.

Until next time. . .

TLS

Comments
  1. Oh, once my novel is out there I plan to do the audio book as soon as possible. I’d like to hear experiences from other people, but from what I understand you can post your book as a job for someone to read and they take a portion of the pie.
    Or, you can narrate the novel yourself. ACX even tells you how to set up your own home studio.

    I think it will be worth it. The more places that have your work the better.

    • tlstimac says:

      That’s a good point, Christopher. Having visibility for your book is a must. I, too, would love to hear from some people that have used ACX. Hopefully I can get in touch with some. I will say that I was thoroughly impressed with the ACX website; it had a ton of useful info!

  2. Leta Fisher says:

    I have friends that use audiobooks when at the gym, driving or just vegging out! I have to read the written word. When I read music is playing or some other noise is happening around me. I don’t know how they do it! More power to them. They say it gets them through the book faster. I guess everyone doesn’t read as fast as me! LOL

Leave a Reply

